Economics Professors receive awards

Three academics from the Department of Economics at the University of Exeter Business School have been recognised in the Economics Network Annual Learning and Teaching Awards.

Professor John Maloney received a special overall award for the student nominated and outstanding teaching categories. The accolade came with the following remarks from the awarding body, “We received a record number of nominations this year and the overall standard of nominating statements was very high but it was ultimately felt that your nomination displayed all the qualities of commitment, enthusiasm, innovation and evident success that represent excellent teaching practice”. Professor Maloney had been praised for his “wit, enthusiasm and for his skill at putting economic ideas into historical and policy context, which he applies across a range of different modules”.

Professors Dieter Balkenborg and Todd Kaplan received an eLearning award related to their work within the Financial and Economic Experiment Laboratory at Exeter (FEELE) which is one of only two such resources in Europe. The awarding body commented, “Your work of promoting active learning with classroom experiments, both within your own department and the wider academic community, stood out”.

The awards were made at a ceremony being held as part of a Developments in Economics Education Conference held in Cardiff. Speaking about the awards, Professor Steve McCorriston, Head of the Department of Economics at the University of Exeter Business School said:

“These awards reflect our commitment to enhancing the student experience at Exeter and providing training in economics that is both innovative and relevant and doing so in a way that fully engages with students”.

Date: 10 September 2009

Read more University News

Using our site | Freedom of Information | Data Protection | Copyright & disclaimer | Privacy & Cookies